
 

  

Santaquin City Uniform Fine Schedule 
 

INTENT  

It is the intent of the Uniform Fine Schedule to assist the sentencing judge in determining the appropriate fine to be imposed as a condition of the 

sentence in a particular case and to minimize disparity in sentencing for similar offenses and offenders. The schedule includes mandatory minimums 

for violation of the respective codes but is not intended to supplant or to minimize a court’s authority to impose a just sentence. In the event that a 

specific offense is also listed in the State of Utah Uniform Fine Schedule, the more stringent penalty shall apply. 

AUTHORITY 

This fine schedule and noted criminal offenses are made under authority of Utah Code §10-3-703 and §10-8-84. 

GUIDE TO THE UNIFORM FINE SCHEDULE 

Violation Code Column  

The code for the violation is based on City code notation practice.  

 

Description Column  

A summary description of the applicable violation. 

 

Fine Amounts and Severity of Offense Column 

This column is broken down into three parts: “1st” indicates the minimum fine and severity for the first offense under the listed violation code, “2nd” 

indicates the minimum fine and severity for a second offense under the listed violation code, “3rd or more” indicates the minimum fine and severity for 

offenses under the violation code after a second offense.  

 

Fine amounts are preceded by the dollar ($) sign.  

 

The severity of the offense is noted after the indicated fines by a parenthetical IN, MC or MB. (IN) stands for an infraction. (MC) stands for a class C 

Misdemeanor. (MB) stands for a class B Misdemeanor.   

 

Note that some violation codes will result in increased fines or class severity depending on the number of offenses under that code. If a single fine and 

severity class is identified across the three offense columns, then this indicates that the fine and severity does not change based on the number of 

offenses under that violation code. 

 



 

  

Violation 

Code 

DESCRIPTION FINE amounts and 

 SEVERITY of offense 

1st  2nd 3rd or more 

3.04.030 Failure to Maintain Business License $500 (IN) 

3.04.070 Proper Display of Business License $50 (IN) 

3.08.050 Failure to Charge/Pay Sales Tax $500 (MB) 

3.32.050 Door to Door Solicitation Violation $150 (IN) $500 (IN) $750 (IN) 

3.32.160 Using Prohibited Solicitor Practices $150 (IN) $500 (IN) $750 (IN) 

4.04.050A Interference with Fire Operations $750 (MB) 

4.04.050B Accumulation of Inflammable Materials $250 (IN) 

4.04.050C Illegal Burning (Negligent) $250 (IN) $500 (IN) $750 (IN) 

4.04.050D Driving Over Fire Hose $250 (IN) 

4.04.050E Parking Near Fire Hydrant $50 (IN) $100 (IN) $200 (IN) 

4.04.050F False Fire Alarms $50 (IN) $100 (IN) $200 (IN) 

4.04.060 Illegal use of fireworks $500 (IN) $750 (MB) $1000 (MB) 

4.08.030.B.1 Befouling culinary water sources 

(See also 8.04.150) 

Maximum allowed (MB) 

4.08.030.B.2 Nuisance Privies, Cesspools, Private treatment systems  

(See also 8.08.110) 

$500 (IN) 

4.08.030.B.3 Unclean or offensive garbage containers  

(See also 4.20.060) 

$500 (IN) 

4.08.030.B.4 Garbage Accumulation  

(See also 4.08.080 and 4.20.070) 

$500 (IN) $500 (IN) $750 (IN) 

4.08.030.B.5 Manure Accumulation to offensive degree $500 (IN) 

4.08.030.B.6 Slaughterhouses kept in unclean or nuisance state $500 (IN) 

4.08.030.B.7 Discharging Offensive water or liquid waste $500 (IN) $500 (IN) $750 (IN) 

4.08.030.B.8 Collecting grease, offensive matter $500 (IN) 

4.08.030.B.9 Having a fly or mosquito producing condition $500 (IN) 

4.08.030.B.10 Not providing sanitary facilities where required for bunk 

house or place of employment (See also 9.04.130) 

 $500 (IN)  

4.08.030.B.11 Repository of stagnant water or decaying or offensive 

substance 

$500 (IN) 



 

  

4.08.030.B.12 Nuisance Animals $500 (IN) 

4.08.050 Non-compliant sewer or restroom facilities  

(See also 8.08 and 9.04) 

$500 (IN) 

4.08.060 Blocking water courses $500 (IN) $500 (IN) $750 (IN) 

4.08.070 Weeds and deleterious objects $500 (IN) $500 (IN) $750 (IN) 

4.08.080 Nuisances on property: Lumber, junk, trash, debris, 

abandoned or discarded equipment and personal items, 

weeds 

$500 (IN) 

 

4.08.100 Disorderly house or premises $500 (IN) Maximum allowed 

(MC) 

Maximum allowed 

(MB) 

4.12 Noise violations $250 (IN) $500 (IN) $750 (IN) 

4.16 Hazardous Materials Maximum allowed (MB) 

4.20 Violation of general solid waste and refuse standards $50 (IN) $100 (IN) $200 (IN) 

4.20.070 Illegal Dumping, Hauling, Burning $250 (IN) $500 (IN) $750 (IN) 

4.24.080 Special Event Permit Violations $200 (MC) 

5.04.020 Posting of handbills and other signs without permission $25 (IN) $50 (IN) $100 (IN) 

5.04.030 Throwing projectiles into the street $500 (MB) 

5.08 Animal Violation (Default) $50 (IN) $100 (IN) $200 (IN) 

5.08.020.D Interference with Animal Control Officer $500 (MC) 

5.08.040 No Dog License Tag $50 (IN) $100 (IN) $200 (IN) 

5.08.050 Animal Cruelty Refer to U.C.A. §76-9-3 

 

5.08.060.A 

Dogs Attacking Person   See 5.08.060.A.5 and 6 for classification and fines 

 

5.08.060.B 

Dogs Attacking Animal  See 5.08.060.B.5 and 6 for classification and fines 

5.08.060.C Possession of Vicious Animal $300 (MC) 

5.08.070 No Rabies Tag $50 (IN) $100 (IN) $200 (IN) 

5.08.080 Animals at Large $50 (IN) $100 (IN) $200 (IN) 

5.08.090 Dog at Large $50 (IN) $100 (IN) $200 (IN) 

5.08.100.A  Disposition of dead animals $300 (IN) $450 (IN) $750 (IN) 

5.08.100.B Diseased Animals Maximum allowed (MC) 

5.08.100.C Diseased Animals for Human Consumption Maximum allowed (MC) 

5.08.100.D Loud or Offensive Animals $50 (IN) $100 (IN) $200 (IN) 

5.08.100.E Trespassing Animals $50 (IN) $100 (IN) $200 (IN) 



 

  

5.08.110 Interference with Impounding $100 (MC) 

5.08.120 Retaking animal unlawfully $100 (IN) 

5.08.130 Commercial animal establishment without permit  

(See 3.04.030 and 10.64.120) 

$500 (IN) 

5.08-140 thru 

5.08-170 

Violating commercial animal establishment standards $300 (IN) $450 (IN) $750 (IN) 

5.08.180 Dog Park Violation $50 (IN) $100 (IN) $200 (IN) 

5.12.010 Curfew Violation $50 (IN) $100 (IN) $200 (IN) 

5.12.010.D Curfew (Parent Liability) $50 (IN) $100 (IN) $200 (IN) 

5.12.020 Possession by or sale of tobacco products to minors Refer to U.C.A. §76-10-1 

5.12.030 Possession by or sale of alcohol products to minors Refer to U.C.A. §76-10-1 

5.12.040 Possession of drugs by minors Refer to U.C.A. §76-10-1 

6.08.020 OHV Travel on Public Streets $50 (IN) $100 (IN) $200 (IN) 

6.08.020.1 OHV Causing an Annoyance $50 (IN) $100 (IN) $200 (IN) 

6.08.030. OHV Trespass $50 (IN) $100 (IN) $200 (IN) 

6.08.020.4 OHV Speeding 16+ MPH - $50 (IN) 

6.08.030 OHV Trespass $50 (IN) $100 (IN) $200 (IN) 

6.08.040.A OHV Equipment requirements $50 (IN) $100 (IN) $200 (IN) 

6.08.040.B OHV Vehicle Standards – do we need to add this 

section? 

   

6.08.040.C OHV Noise nuisance $250 (IN) $500 (IN) $750 (IN) 

6.08.050 OHV Expired Reg. $90 (IN) 

6.08.060 No OHV License or Safety Certificate $50 (IN) $100 (IN) $200 (IN) 

6.08.070 Husbandry Implement on Highway $50/160 (IN) 

6.08.080 No Protective Headgear/Eyewear $50 (IN) 

6.08.090 Riding OHV After Dark $50 (IN) 

6.16.010 Obstructing clear view areas $50 (IN) 

6.16.020 Parking commercial vehicles in residential zones  

(See also 7-04-100) 

$250 (IN) $500 (IN) $750 (IN) 

6.16.030 Parking of Mobile Home/Trailer Storage Street $50 (IN) $100 (IN) $200 (IN) 

7.04.020 Encroachment Permit Violation (See 7.08) $1,000 (IN) 

7.04.030 Winter Parking $25 (IN) $50 (IN) $100 (IN) 

7.04.040.A Failure to remove snow $50 (IN) $100 (IN) $200 (IN) 

7.04.040.B Depositing snow in street $50 (IN) $100 (IN) $300 (IN) 



 

  

7.04.050 Street Obstructions $50 (IN) $100 (IN) $200 (IN) 

7.04.060 Discharge of Water onto streets $50 (IN) $100 (IN) $300 (IN) 

7.04.070 Blocking or driving on sidewalks $50 (IN) $100 (IN) $200 (IN) 

7.04.080 Driving Animals on Street $50 (IN) $100 (IN) $200 (IN) 

7.04.090 Parking of vehicles and equipment on publicly owned 

property 

$50 (IN) $100 (IN) $200 (IN) 

7.04.100 Parking of large vehicles and equipment in residential 

zones 

$50 (IN) $100 (IN) $200 (IN) 

7.04.110 Commercial Vehicles Over 4-Axels on Restricted Roads $500 (IN) 

7.08 Excavation Violations $250 (IN) $500 (IN) $750 (IN) 

7.12 Cemetery Violations $50 (IN) 

7.16.040 Violation of general park restrictions $50 (IN) 

7.16.060.B Encroachments on park space $50 (IN) 

7.16.070 Trail Violations $50 (IN) 

8.04.130 Scarcity of water regulations $50 (IN) $100 (IN) $200 (IN) 

8.04.140.A Unauthorized delivery of water to another user $250 (MB) $500 (MB) $1000 (MB) 

8.04.140.B Wasting water $50 (IN) $100 (IN) $200 (IN) 

8.04.140.C Water system construction $500 (MB) 

8.04.150 Drinking Water Source Protection $1000 (MB) 

8.08.020.A Failure to connect to public sewer when required $50 per day of non-compliance (IN) 

8.08.020.B Unsanitary Disposal of Waste $100 (IN) $200 (IN) $300 (IN) 

8.08.030 Illegal private sewer system $50 per day of non-compliance (IN) 

8.08.040.A Illegal connection to public sewer $50 per day of non-compliance (IN) 

8.08.060 Illegal discharge of unpolluted or polluted waters or 

waste to sewer system 

$500 (MB) $750 per day of violation (MB) 

8.08.070 Damage to city sewer facilities and equipment $750 (MB) 

8.16.020 Illegal connection to secondary water system $50 per day of non-compliance (MB) 

8.16.040 Use of unmetered water through system $500 (MB) 

8.16.050 Scarcity of secondary water regulations $50 (IN) $100 (IN) $200 (IN) 

8.16.090 Use of secondary water during prohibited hours $25 (IN) $50 (IN) $75 (IN) 

8.20 General utility billing violations $50 (IN) $100 (IN) $200 (IN) 

8.20.120 Unauthorized restoration of discontinued utility services $250 (MB) $500 (MB) $750 (MB) 

8.20.130 Unauthorized restoration of voluntarily disconnected 

utility services 

$500 (MB) $750 (MB) $1000 (MB) 



 

  

 

9.040.030.F 

Failure to obtain a building permit or inspections $750(IN) $750 (IN) $1000 (MB) 

 

9.04.030G 

Failure to Obtain Required Building Inspection $750 (IN) $750 (IN) $1000 (MB) 

9.04.050 Plumbing modifications without a permit $750 (IN) $750 (IN) $1000 (MB) 

9.04.060 Electrical modifications without a permit $750 (IN) $750 (IN) $1000 (MB) 

9.12 Building permit for mobile home $750 (IN) $750 (IN) $1000 (MB) 

 

10.16.240 

Living in a Recreational Vehicle <10 days – $50 (IN) 

10-30 days – $200 (IN) 

>30 days – $500 (IN) 

10.16.280 Must obtain a permit to conduct mass grading or 

excavating 

$250 (IN) per day 

10.16.300 Temporary use permit required $50 (IN) per day 

10.16.310 Special events permit required $500 (IN) per day 

10.24.020 Conditional use permit required $250 (IN) $500 (IN) $750 (IN) 

10.36.010 Permits required $750 (IN) $750 (IN) $1000 (MB) 

10.36.050 Occupancy or construction in variance with approvals $500 (IN) per day 

10.36.060 Failure to Obtain Certificate of Occupancy  $500 (IN) per day 

10.40.020 Home Occupation license required $250 (IN) $500 (IN) $750 (IN) 

10.40.080 Bed and Breakfasts require conditional use permit $250 (IN) $500 (IN) $750 (IN) 

10.44.040 Signage in violation of city codes $50 (IN) per day 

10.44.060 Signs Prohibited $50 (IN) 

10.44.070 Violation of Sign Standards - Permit Required $750 (IN) $750 (IN) $1000 (MB) 

10.44.080 Violation of Sign Standards - No permit Required $50 (IN) 

10.44.090 Violation of Temporary Sign Regulations $50 (IN) 

10.52.020 Residence to be landscaped $250 (IN) 

10.18.10 Location of Structure Civil   

10.64.080.C.2 Harboring 4 + Animals $50 (IN) $100 (IN) $200 (IN) 

10.64.080.D Farm Animal Violation $50 (IN) $100 (IN) $200 (IN) 

10.64.090 Location of Animal Structure $250 (IN) $500 (IN) $750 (IN) 

10.64.100 Fencing of animals  $250 (IN) $500 (IN) $750 (IN) 

10.64.110 Controlling animal waste runoff $100 (IN) 

11.12.040.A Conveyance prior to subdivision $1,000 (IN) 

11.12.040.B Recording of plat prior to approvals $1,000 (IN) 



 

  

11.12.040.C Occupancy Permits $1,000 (IN) 

11.12.040.D Plat modifications without approval $1,000 (IN) 

11.12.040.E Creating a remnant parcel $1,000 (IN) 

 

Amended 02/21/2023  


